Local Government

The Western Downs Region has an estimated resident population of over 33,653 and a projected population of 41,878 by 2036. The region has a diverse economic base underpinned by Mining, Agriculture, fishing & forestry, Construction, Electricity, gas, water & waste services, Retail trade and Manufacturing.

Western Downs Regional Council has a total expenditure budget in 2015/16 of $269.9M comprising of operating expenditure of $153.6M and a capital works investment of $116.3M. Western Downs Regional Council employs over 700 staff.

Strong communities, enhanced transport accessibility (road, rail, air), employment opportunity and quality health and education services bestow an enviable lifestyle for local residents.

Click here to visit the Western Downs Regional Council website.

Councillor Profiles

Mayor

Cr Paul McVeigh
Portfolio: Executive Services
Phone: 07 4679 4004
Mobile: 0408 700 392
E-mail: paul.mcveigh@wdrc.qld.gov.au

Deputy Mayor

Cr Andrew Smith
Portfolio: Planning and Environment
Phone: 07 4679 4004
Mobile: 0438 755 896
E-mail: andrew.smith@wdrc.qld.gov.au


Cr Donna Ashurst
Portfolio: Economic Development
Phone: 07 4679 4004
Mobile: 0475 268 207
E-mail: donna.ashurst@wdrc.qld.gov.au

Cr Ray Brown
Portfolio: Council Facilities
Phone: 07 4679 4004
Mobile: 0407 650 216
E-mail: ray.brown@wdrc.qld.gov.au

Cr Kaye Maguire
Portfolio: Community and Cultural Development
Phone: 07 4679 4004
Mobile: 0475 007 555
E-mail: kaye.maguire@wdrc.qld.gov.au

Cr Greg Olm
Portfolio: Works and Technical Services
Phone: 07 4679 4004
Mobile: 0477 977 082
E-mail: greg.olm@wdrc.qld.gov.au

Cr Ian Rasmussen
Portfolio: Finance and Corporate Services
Phone: 07 4679 4004
Mobile: 0477 977 085
E-mail: ian.rasmussen@wdrc.qld.gov.au

Cr Pater Saxelby
Portfolio: Utilities
Phone: 07 4679 4004
Mobile: 0475 007 554
E-mail: peter.saxelby@wdrc.qld.gov.au

Cr Carolyn Tillman
Portfolio: Parks, Open Spaces and Cemeteries
Phone: 07 4679 4004
Mobile: 0401 662 352
E-mail: carolyn.tillman@wdrc.qld.gov.au